Counting Easter Blessings

20140419-215717.jpgIt’s Easter. Yep, another holiday that makes me pretty unhappy with the hospitality industry.

Note to self: this is a happiness blog. Chin up.

Being married to a chef certainly has its benefits but, like most things in life, it also has its drawbacks. Spending the holidays without my husband is a pretty big drawback….but if that’s my biggest cross to bare, I should probably be quiet and count my blessings.

I learned early on in our marriage that this was the way it would be. My husband is in the business of bringing people together to enjoy good food, good wine and good company. He is in the business of making amazing memories for people – whether it is on a holiday or on some other special occasion – people depend on him to make it perfect. He takes that job pretty seriously and I don’t think he’s ever let anyone down.

Of course, he has another job at home. Here, he is in the business of making me and our girls happy. He takes that job pretty seriously too and he never lets us down. We would certainly prefer to have him along for the celebration today but, even without his presence, we know how lucky we are. My girls know that they have a dad who adores them whether he is sitting at our holiday table or busy perfecting someone else’s. We are lucky to be surrounded by an amazing family who makes every holiday a wonderful tradition. And we are lucky to be able to come home and share our stories with our very own, very exhausted, Chef Dad. We are lucky and that makes me happy.

Count your blessings today and have a Happy Easter everyone!

2 comments

  1. Wiping tears from my face on the train….. gulp! Thanks love:) Xo. Your pretty friggin awesome too

    Like

Leave a comment