Yes! Yes! Yes!

This is not the infamous Yes, yes, yes! of When Harry Met Sally.  That was a great movie and a really great Meg Ryan moment, but this is a completely different Yes! moment.

This is the Yes! That’s exactly what I was thinking – I’m so glad somebody else gets it kind of yes.

I was talking with a friend this afternoon.  We don’t know each other well and my guess is that, as a follower of my blog, she has fallen hook, line and sinker for the belief that my life is perfectly happy every single day.  That makes me cringe.  Not because I don’t want a perfectly happy life – we all want a perfectly happy life – but that’s just not realistic.  There are moments in life that are happy.  There are moments in each day that are happy.  But a lifetime of pure happiness is simply unrealistic.  If every moment of every day of every year were perfect, we would never truly appreciate that perfection.  We would never truly know happiness.

At least that’s what I believe.

There are roadblocks, there are pitfalls, there are challenges.  There is anger, there is sadness, there is resentment.  There are twists and turns on everyone’s journey….including mine.  In one single day, those twists and turns have occasionally given me whiplash.

That’s life.

I didn’t challenge myself to write a blog about a full year of happiness because I thought it would be easy.  God knows there are days when it is really, really hard.  It’s called a challenge because that’s exactly what it is.  A dare of sorts.  A dare to find happiness in at least one moment of every single day for a full year.

I can’t tell you how happy I am for accepting the challenge.

All of these thoughts were bouncing around in my head all day long.  I wanted to write about it, but I didn’t know how.  I didn’t know how to explain that my life isn’t pure happiness while also pointing out that there is pure happiness in life.

You had to read that last sentence over again, didn’t you?  Now you know exactly how my brain was feeling all day long!

It wasn’t until late this evening, when I finally sat down to write, that I noticed a message from another friend.  It was as if she had been reading my mind;  as if she knew that I needed someone or something to help me find the right words, the right thought.  That’s when the Yes! Yes! Yes! moment happened.  Here’s part of what she sent:

We live in times when super-busy schedules have become something to boast about. While the speed of life increases, there is less and less time to enjoy the moment that you are in. The ability to appreciate the moment, the environment and yourself in it, is the base for the bridge towards long term happiness of any human being.

It was a posting from 100HappyDays.com – a site challenging people to join in on an ‘experiment’ of sorts.  It’s a simple concept.  Every day, submit a picture (no words needed) of something that made you happy during your day.  That’s it.  So simple, but so many people gave up.  So many people couldn’t commit themselves to 100 days of snapping a picture.  So many people chose to ignore just a little bit of happiness.  I wanted to scream!

This entire blog is dedicated to that same experiment.  I have rotten days just like everybody else, but this is not the space for that.  This is a space to focus on the positive – to find some happiness – even if it is a fleeting moment of happiness buried in the middle of a really bad day.  And that makes all the difference.  It makes a rotten day a little less rotten, and it makes a happy day even happier.  It’s a feeling I want to share with every single person I know, but I can’t.  It’s a feeling that you can only get by consciously committing yourself to finding one moment of happiness in each day….. and let me tell you, it is sooooo worth the effort!

Join #100HappyDays PLEASE.  I promise – you’ll be happy you did.

One comment

  1. I could easily tell the world at least once a day something that makes me happy about you my wife and my kids. That would be too easy. I’m sorry I have contributed to some of your really off days; but also that you are still able to pull a happy rabbit from the hat of tricks each day.
    Xo honey

    Like

Leave a Reply

