The Shoe God

20140513-203137.jpgThese are my new shoes.  Can you hear me squealing?  They’re mine.  All mine.  Aren’t they beautiful!

Once upon a time, I was the accessory queen.  I had a pair of shoes for every outfit and purses to match.  I had fabulous scarves, wild necklaces, dangly earrings and an arm full of bracelets.  I actually owned a purse that was made out of a hollowed out coconut at one point in my life.  My goodness – I loved that silly little purse.

What happened to me?

I suppose I replaced fabulous accessories with fabulous little girls.  That really is fine by me, but holy cow!  I forgot how giddy a new pair of shoes could make me feel!

As a mom – even a working mom – how often do I get to wear a pair of shoes like this?  Of course, I have the occasional work meeting or conference that requires a ‘professional’ outfit to escape from the depths of my closet.  But, let’s face it, those outfits are generally the boring, librarian outfits that can only be matched with a pair of sensible loafers and a pearl necklace.  Bo-ring.  There’s always the alternative.  I could show up at a PTA meeting wearing my new high heels.

Ummmm.  I think not.

So, tonight I am so very happy that God brought these fabulous shoes into my life just in time for my daughter’s communion.  He truly is a loving and giving God.  Amen.

 

Leave a comment