Madame President

20140605-163530.jpgMy daughter was sworn in as President today and I missed it.  Thank goodness this was just the practice run.

My alarm clock sounded at 4:30 this morning.  I sat up immediately, panicked that I might fall right back to sleep if I allowed my head to hit the pillow again.  Going back to bed would have cost me dearly.  My daughter would have banished me from her life forever if she missed the bus destined for Philadelphia with her and 80 of her classmates.

Whose idea was that?

I remember planning for a similar trip when I was in elementary school.  I was beyond thrilled, so excited to be staying in a real, live hotel room with my entire 6th grade class.  And then it was canceled.  Needless to say, I was thoroughly disappointed.  So disappointed, in fact, that it is one of the few memories that I have hung on to.  I know, I know – let it go.

There is a slight possibility that I was living vicariously through my daughter when the note came home in early September, inquiring about our interest in an overnight trip to Philadelphia.  My immediate reaction was pure excitement.  What a great experience for her – a 2 day trip with all of her classmates, taking in all of the sites and sounds of good ol’ Philadelphia.  How exciting!

And then my Mom instinct kicked in.

A 2-day trip to Philadelphia.  With all of her classmates.  In a hotel room.  Hmmmm.  The trip suddenly started sounding a bit sketchy.  Did they really need an overnight trip?  Weren’t there other, closer, sites to visit just for the day?  Philly is nice and all, but…..

These definitely weren’t the things that I thought about when I was hoping to get away with my entire class.

I managed to keep my ‘mommy crazies’ in check, I signed the permission slip, paid the bill and sent her off at 5am this morning.  The phone rang at 6pm tonight.

“Hi Mommy,” she was clearly running on pure adrenaline.

“Hi babe.  How’s your trip going?”  Based on the sound of her voice, I didn’t need to ask, but I did anyway.

“Sooo much fun!  We went to Constitution Hall and we saw the Liberty Bell and our tour guide was really funny and we climbed the Rocky steps and…..”  She couldn’t get the words out fast enough.

I suppose a future president should be allowed to venture out on overnight field trips now and then.  I’ll go to sleep happy tonight…..and I’m pretty sure Madame President will too.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

