They Do Exist

20140613-223536.jpgI’ve been searching for these peanut butter cup Oreos since I heard rumors of their existence.  I’ve meandered down cookie aisles with bated breath, hoping – praying – that the rumors were true.  I’d sneak up slowly to the Oreo section, scanning the shelves as if I was the hunter searching for its prey.  But it was to no avail.  Those cookies were never there.  They began to take on the intrigue of centuries old fables.

Until today.

Today I walked into the grocery store and took my casual stroll through the cookie aisle and there they were.  I heard the heavens sing and this bright light seemed to suddenly shine a spotlight on the Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup Oreo cookies.  I stopped dead in my tracks and thought Oh. My. God.

I snatched them up and ran to the cashier.  I began unloading my cart, heard the familiar beep of the scanner and the hum of the belt.  I was nearly through placing all of my groceries in bags when I noticed the sound of the scanner had stopped.  Out of the corner of my eye, I noticed that my cashier seemed to be standing still – frozen.  It wasn’t until I heard him slowly say, “Oh. My. God.” that I knew.  I knew that he, too, had assumed that these cookies were merely mythical creations.  But now he knew.  Now he was holding them in his hands and it was obvious that the realization that they existed made him as happy as it did me.

That ShopRite cashier and me – we’re bonded….for life.

 

3 comments

Leave a Reply

