The World Awaits You

Image courtesy of FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Image courtesy of FreeDigitalPhotos.net

There is this letter running rampant through my head.  It never stops.  I keep adding more words, more thoughts to it, but it never finds its way to paper.  It’s a letter to my daughter.  She graduated from her elementary school today.

It’s too late tonight to give the words life, but I needed to tell you that it’s coming.  Saying it out loud commits me to it and assures that I will make the time to write it all down.  I have so much that I want to tell her….before she stops listening.

Tonight – well, tonight I cried.  I did.  I admit it.  These kids that my daughter has surrounded herself with are so amazing – smart and talented, kind and thoughtful and so mature beyond their years.  Every single one of them is ready to take flight.  I can’t wait to see where their journey will take them and, yet, I want to hold on to them, freeze them exactly where they are.

It’s complicated.

Tonight, I’ll simply take a minute to say congratulations to the future class of 2021.  The world awaits you…..show ’em what you’ve got!

 

One comment

Leave a Reply

