The Balancing Act

Image courtesy of David Castillo Dominici / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Image courtesy of David Castillo Dominici / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Working from home has its pros and cons.  Working independently, without the distractions of co-workers or the water cooler gossip is definitely a pro.  On the other hand, working independently, without the distractions of co-workers and water cooler gossip is also a con.

Does that make sense?

Most days I’m grateful for my quiet workspace.  I love the concentrated effort I can put into a project that needs real thought and time to develop.  But, other days I crave the camaraderie of a team of co-workers who can add a new perspective or some unexpected depth to my project.  Like so many other parts of life, working from home is a constant balancing act.

Today I took my work on the road and headed to one of our local offices for an all-staff meeting.  I got to sit at our conference room table, surrounded by my co-workers, where I listened to updates and procedure changes.  I heard the latest gossip and added my take to the most recent boardroom drama.  I sat quietly, noticing the interesting dynamics that were at play among the wildly different people sitting at that table, and I wondered how my presence might play into those dynamics.

Interesting.

I actually relished my time in the office today.  I’m fairly certain I’ll relish the time that I spend working from home tomorrow too.  Not a bad balancing act.

Leave a Reply

