Caught Up In an Old Memory

20140823-181331-65611945.jpgI’m sitting in my childhood bedroom wading through a pile of things that I left behind years ago.  I can’t recall why I walked into this closet or what it was that I was looking for.  Whatever it was, I found something better.

There are pictures of old friends, some who have stayed the course with me and others whose names have been lost.  Photos of moments that needed to be remembered – that trip to Hershey Park, that other trip to Venezuela and of course the one to Disney.  And who could forget that time we kissed the Blarney stone?  There were pictures from my birthday party sleepover, my sweet 16 (along with countless others), my prom, my high school graduation and the moment I was inducted into the honor society during my college years.  There was a mass card commemorating the death of a friend who died too soon along with that one photo of him that I managed to keep from fading.

It’s amazing how quickly you can get caught up in an old memory.

This is one of my favorite pictures.  That’s me holding that itty bitty baby.  That baby is my nephew – my very first one.  And sitting next to us is my grandfather.  Staring at that picture now, I wonder what he must have been thinking.  Did he wonder how this happened?  How he had suddenly become a great grandfather?  That must have seemed surreal.

Sitting here in my old room, caught up in all of these old memories, it all seems surreal to me too.  That itty bitty baby is now 22 and I’m a married mother of two.  Whoa.  When did that all happen?  I’m not sure, but I’m glad I have these incredibly happy memories to get caught up in.

Leave a Reply

