Holy Guacamole!

20140910-184618-67578231.jpgI woke up to an incredibly thoughtful and poetic card from my husband this morning.  It was as if he personally contacted the founders of Hallmark, shared our life story with them and somehow managed to coerce them into creating an anniversary card just for me.  It actually made me weepy.

And then he started out by writing “Holy Guacamole!  15 Happy Years!”

I had a good misty-eyed laugh after reading that.  Seems he’s been shouting “Holy Guacamole” throughout our entire relationship.

When we first met (and I charmed him with my wit and obvious sex appeal), when we got engaged (and I convinced him that it would be ok), when we got married (and I was still trying to convince him it would be ok), when we decided to have kids and buy a house (and I was scraping him up off the floor, still trying to convince him that it would be ok), when we decided to move away from our family (that was a doozy and, yes, I was still trying to convince him that it would be ok).  Throughout every stage of our life, he has stared at me in stunned disbelief, undoubtedly thinking “Holy guacamole, what is she getting me into now?”  And throughout every stage of life, I have enthusiastically grabbed him by the hand, smiled and said “Don’t worry!  This is going to be fun.  You’ll see.”

I laughed, thinking about all of this today and I wondered how I managed to convince him to come along for this ride.  And what an imperfect, crazy, surprising and incredibly wonderful ride it has been.  Thank goodness he let me drag him along.

Happy 15th Anniversary to us! ❤

One comment

Leave a Reply

