Go Ahead, Take the Day Off

I recently decided that a four day work week would be a better fit for my life and, more importantly, my sanity.  I think that was an excellent decision.

Of course, when I was planning this shift in lifestyle, I imagined all of the housework, food shopping and various errands I would accomplish during that weekly childfree day.  I fantasized about the weekly meals that I would cook and the neatly folded laundry that would always be properly placed in drawers and closets.  I envisioned plenty of time to finish all of my unfinished home projects and I was actually excited about the idea of freshly mopped floors having the chance to dry well before small feet could tread on them.  I had such grand plans.

Today I tried out my new weekly day off.  The day started with coffee with the ladies and ended with dinner with good friends.  Turns out my real plans are even grander than those I imagined.

This was definitely an excellent decision.

Leave a Reply

