Couches, Kitties and a Chaotic World

Does it ever feel as though the entire world has gone mad? As if logic and common sense are foreign words or, worse yet, foreign concepts? When doing the right thing is synonymous with doing the near impossible, it seems that something must be wrong.  No?

I’m feeling a bit jaded today – can you tell?  Here’s a quick recap of my dilemma – two dilemmas, to be exact.

Dilemma #1:  My parents recently replaced their living room couch;  their well-kept, like-new living room couch.  Believing it was capable of living a long, happy, second life, they called two organizations dedicated to helping those ‘less fortunate.’  Humans down on their luck and in need of other humans to prop them up could certainly use a well-kept, like-new, secondhand couch looking for a new home.  Right?  I suppose my definition of down-on-your-luck and others is quite different, because when couch collection day arrived, the collectors noticed some slight discoloration – likely a result of the sun streaming through the windows near its resting place.  The couch was rejected.  Apparently, nobody really needed it.

*Puzzled head scratch*

Dilemma #2:  A stray kitten, only 6 or 7 weeks old at best, has been wandering in the woods near a friends home for more than a week now.  Her teenie, tiny squeals made my heart melt.  Poor little kitty.  After several failed attempts to capture her, our friends called to say that they finally got her.  Hooray!  That little kitten, affectionately named Buster, surely would have been doomed if not for people doing the right thing.  Or was it the right thing?  Phone calls and desperate pleas were met with not my problem or we’ve got enough of our own problems.  The best option we were given:  hold onto her for a month, get her spayed and send her back out into the woods.  I suppose a 3 month old kitten would do just fine out there. 

*Puzzled head scratch again*

There’s a part of me that understands the rejection faced in both dilemmas.  There is protocol and liability and culpability and blah, blah, blah.  I get it….I guess.  Of course, there’s the other part of me that wants to scream ‘Are you kidding me?’  Perhaps I’m simple-minded or maybe naive.  I struggle with the idea of doing the right thing being met with so much opposition, so many obstacles.  It simply seems absurd.

Ho-hum.

Well, there is some good news in all of this.  I am happy to report that, against all odds, sweet little Buster found herself a wonderful new home.  The couch, on the other hand, did not.  I suppose positive results in 50% of our ‘do the right thing’ moments isn’t half bad in this crazy, chaotic, perplexing world of ours.

Leave a Reply

