That Trader Joe Guy

Who has been hiding this Trader Joe guy from me and why?

I walked into this little gem of a store for the very first time today and it was as if the skies opened and the heavens began to sing.  “May I use this basket?” I asked one of the workers after spinning breathlessly, trying to take it all in.  “Of course,” he grinned and quickly leaped up to hand it to me.  How nice of him, I thought to myself.  I wandered through the aisles immediately recognizing that I needed to trade my basket for a cart.

The dried fruit and nut aisle alone could have easily filled that basket!

As is always the case, I had little time to spare and didn’t have the luxury of strolling the aisles for hours.  I quickly gathered up a few irresistible items and headed to the quaint little check-out counters.  Workers greeted me with smiles and pulled out these cleverly hidden, wooden ledges meant to hold the items I wished to purchase.  No rubber-made conveyor belts in this utopia.  My lovely cashier accepted my payment while neatly packaging my groceries in paper bags.  Paper bags!  

I turned to leave, believing that I had stumbled upon a Main Street treasure nestled in a Northeast strip mall, and thanked my cashier who smiled and wished me a nice day.  The rest of my day was chaotic and busy but, during that short 30 minute period, my day was peaceful and – yes – quite happy.

Leave a comment