When I’m Senile

senileOn my last birthday, my girlfriend sent me a card.  Two old ladies adorned the front of the card and, on the inside, the card read ‘we’ll always be friends til we are old and senile….then we can be new friends.’  It was perfect.

Fast forward to this year.

On her birthday, we surprised my girlfriend with an impromptu girls night out.  It was mid-evening when she began sharing the hilarious card she just saw at the store.

“It was so funny,” she laughed.  “It said ‘we’ll always be friends til we are old and senile….then we’ll be new friends!'”

I looked at her for a minute before laughing tentatively.  “You know you sent me that card last year,” I told her.

“Oh,” was her response.

Perhaps we’re meant to be new friends sooner than we thought.

I love the sentiment of this card for so many reasons.  I love the notion that I’d always choose you to be my friend.  It compliments my belief that your people will find you….even if you’re not entirely sure where you are.  The idea of finding my people all over again makes me….well…..happy.

Leave a Reply

