Appreciating Time

The reality of this daily blog is that it occasionally causes me to miss out on things.  I try to squeeze everything in, but there are only so many hours in one day and no matter how hard I try, I simply can’t do it all.

Sometimes I miss out on the opportunity to read a book with my youngest or hear about the friendship troubles of my oldest.  Sometimes I miss out on some much-needed girl time with a friend or some much-needed quiet time on my own.  And sometimes – just sometimes – I miss out on some quality time with my hubby.  It happens.

I’ve been thinking about this a lot lately;  anticipating the time I’ll ‘get back’ once I reach day 365 of this year-long experiment.  Perhaps it’s a fallacy.  Perhaps my time will be quickly filled with the mundane tasks of working moms everywhere.  I sure hope not.  

I’m looking forward to getting some time back every day, but I was happy to finagle some time for a few important things today.  Time for an overdue cup of coffee with a friend.  Time to read a book with my youngest.  Time to watch the swim practice of my oldest.  Time to talk summer vacation with my husband.  And a little time to be thankful for the chance to simply appreciate time.

Leave a Reply

