Happy Valentine’s Day Ya Dork

When we were dating, my husband and I were that couple.  The couple that was always together, always holding hands, always exchanging glances across a crowded room, always referring to one another by some adorable nickname.  During our wedding song, we shuffled to the right and kissed.  Then we shuffled to the left and kissed again.  Yep, we were that couple.

It’s amazing how 20 years can change a relationship.

A house, careers, 2 kids, a dog and 1 dragon later, we’ve grown fairly comfortable in our relationship.  These days, we’re more likely to exchange sarcastic comments than sexy glances across a crowded room.  I can’t recall the last time I held his hand and, just last night, I suggested that we invest in two double beds:  one for each of us.  We could keep them in the same room, of course, but I just think we’d sleep so much more comfortably if we had our own space.

You must understand, he’s a tosser.  I’ve been hit in the head by his sleeping elbow more times than I can count.  Twenty years in, you begin to wonder if that’s really an accident.

Of course, there are some things that haven’t changed.  Those pet names we used to have for one another?  They’ve morphed a bit over the years, but we still have them.  I was reminded of that just this afternoon while texting my husband.  He was wondering if I was having an affair with the ice cream man.  My response?  “No dopey.”  His?  “Who you calling dopey?  Ditz.”

Ah.  Just like the old days.

Twenty years into this relationship thing, sarcasm, dry wit and name calling is just our way of saying I love you.  So, if you’re reading this my dear husband, Happy Valentine’s Day ya dork. 🙂 ❤ 

Leave a Reply

