Look Out Imelda, I’m Makin’ A Comeback!

It was a had-to-have bracelet and must-buy-now shoes that were beckoning my lovely ladies to the mall this afternoon.  I indulged their desires today simply because I’ve been feeling a bit stir crazy since the temperature dipped below the 0 degree mark

Mother Nature is one nasty b…….

Anyway…  Once upon a time, I dreaded the mere idea of shopping with my little ladies.  Every attempted mall outing ended in disaster when they were small.  The screaming, the crying, the wailing was just too much to take – and that was just me.  My girls were skilled mall evaders back then, but all of that has changed in recent years.  Suddenly I find that they’re begging to go to the mall, begging to take me along on their thrifty adventures.  I appeased them today mostly because it was shoes that they were after.

Once upon a time, shoes were my thing.  I had shoes to match every outfit, every style, every emotion.  Shoes (and purses too, of course) took up every last square inch of space in my closet.  Once upon a time, I was Imelda Marcos’ biggest rival.  But that was a long, long time ago.

It was my girls’ new-found love of shopping that had me reaching into the depths of my former self this afternoon.  Standing in the shoe store with them, I felt that familiar spark reignite.  I felt that familiar pull to just try a pair on.  I felt that familiar need to fill my closet.  The shoes were all around me and they were on sale!

Needless to say, there’s a fabulous new pair of shoes sitting in my closet tonight.  I’m still giddy.  🙂

Leave a Reply

