Bouncing Off The Walls

20140419-194039.jpgWith her eyes wide and her hands clasped, my 7 year old squealed “Mommy, I’m so excited!”  I had just announced that we were meeting friends at Bounce.  “If the walls are made of rubber,” she continued, “I’m going to run into them head first so that I can really bounce off a wall!”

And now you have a fairly accurate impression of my youngest daughter.

Not only were we going to Bounce, but we were getting together with friends that we haven’t seen in some time.  It was a banner day…. for all of us.

It was during the ‘Mommy and Me’ days that I met my girlfriend and her oldest daughter.  Our girls hit it off almost immediately and we were happy to indulge their adorable little friendship.  I believe it was a shared brownie at the Mommy & Me summer picnic that sealed the deal.

Between us, we have 5 girls.  The amount of squealing and giggling that goes on when we are all together is probably a tad bit overwhelming to an outsider.  I think it might be a tad bit overwhelming for our husbands too.  I, on the other hand, think it is one of the most adorable things to bare witness to.

The girls don’t go to the same school and they don’t participate in the same activities so carving out time to see each other has grown challenging.  This trip to Bounce would mark our first get-together since the holiday break back in December.  With other friends I worry that differing interests and too much time between visits will prove fatal, but that’s never a concern here.  My girlfriend and I easily pick up where we left off and the girls immediately follow suit.  Play dates with this crew don’t have a 2-hour limit.  In fact, this play date included two little girls bouncing off walls at my house until the wee hours of the morning while the remaining three were doing the the same across town.  And, somehow, that always makes me happy.

 

Leave a comment